Pursuit of Justice Awards 2015 – Honoring Dolores Huerta, Lilly Ledbetter and Peg Yorkin

On June 18th, 2015, CWLC was honored to recognize Dolores Huerta, Lilly Ledbetter and Peg Yorkin at the 2015 Pursuit of Justice Awards held at the Millennium Biltmore Hotel in downtown Los Angeles.  Thank you to those of you who attended and our event sponsors who helped acknowledge our honorees commitment to creating equal opportunities for all.

It was fitting that on Equal Pay Day, the California Women’s Law Center announced our legendary honorees for the 2015 Pursuit of Justice Awards luncheon.

These remarkable SHEroes have been lifelong trailblazers for equal pay and equal rights, their names synonymous with the fight for fairness and opportunity for all.

Dolores Huerta has been an advocate for social justice and equality on behalf of workers, immigrants, women and youth. As President of the Dolores Huerta Foundation and co-founder of the United Farm Workers, she has fostered female leaders and influenced legislation that supports equality and defends civil rights across the country. She received the prestigious Presidential Medal of Freedom from President Barack Obama in 2012 and the Eleanor D. Roosevelt Human Rights Award from President Bill Clinton in 1998.

Lilly Ledbetter is an equal pay activist, whose courageous fight against her former employer, Goodyear Tire and Rubber Co., prompted President Barack Obama to sign the Lilly Ledbetter Fair Pay Act of 2009.  She released her book “Grace and Grit: My Fight for Equal Pay and Fairness at Goodyear and Beyond” in 2012.

Peg Yorkin, Chair of the Board and co-founder of the Feminist Majority Foundation, has fought tirelessly for decades to ensure women are healthy, safe and able to pursue their dreams. Her work has included advocating for women to have access to all forms of birth control in America and supporting the needs of women and girls in Afghanistan.

POJ 2015 collage

Celebrating their amazing work provided a very inspirational and motivating atmosphere and added momentum to CWLC’s ability to continue to advocate, train and litigate on behalf of women and girls!

Thank You to Our 2015 Sponsors


Chris Hollinger / Sleeping Lion, Inc.


Fox Entertainment

Gibson Dunn

Manatt, Phelps & Phillips, LLP

Munger, Tolles & Olson, LLP

Proskauer Rose, LLP

Peg Yorkin


Consumer Attorneys of California

Christa M. Demeke

Jenner & Block, LLP

Law Offices of Victor L. George

Nicole Mutchnik

Pepper Hamilton, LLP

The Rosenthal Family Foundation | Jamie Wolf and Nancy Stephens


Arnold & Porter, LLP

Tony Blain | Blain & Associates

Samantha A. Caldwell

FEM Law Group

Girardi | Keese, Amy Solomon

Jones Day

Anna Menedjian | Sizemore Law Firm

The Morrison & Foerster Foundation

Olivarez Madruga, LLP

Planned Parenthood Los Angeles

Reed & Davidson, LLP

Christine Spagnoli | Greene Broillet & Wheeler, LLP

Lois and Jim Thompson

Thomsom Reuters

United Nurses Association of California / Union of Health Care Professionals

Former State Controller Steve Westly


Hon. Georgia Mercer

Laura Petroff

The Winston & Strawn Foundation

Additional photos from the event can be viewed on CWLC’s Facebook page.